Boundaries

Little Man is pushing boundaries.

Will Mom and Dad let me stand on my chair at the dinner table?

How long can I push bedtime?

Can I demand my tv show instead of the one Daddy is watching?

Mommy and Daddy are trying to be consistent.  But, after a day of work, it can be difficult.  Yes, if Mommy and Daddy are tired, and just want a peaceful dinner, we have allowed standing meals (as long as he is eating).  But last night, I got tired of the standing, and insisted on him sitting back in his highchair.  I gave him some Legos.  That way, when he was done eating, he played quietly with Legos.  It was nice.  Of course, I did totally give up the bib.

Bedtime, we have good days and bad days.  If Mommy makes him go to bed, he cries for Daddy, and vice versa.  And now that he can open doors, he can stand outside his bedroom door and cry.  Luckily he doesn’t know how to open the babygate that is outside his door.

TV time has been interesting.  He would love it if he could just watch Curious George, Martha Speaks and Thomas all the time.  Maybe some movies in between.  Daddy is tired of George.  He wants to watch Stephen Colbert.  Who wins?  This tv war is still on debate.  I try to make sure the two men in my house share the tv… Luckily they both enjoy Old Disney movies, like the Love Bug.  🙂

Leave a Reply

