Money on the mind

Yes, we are in a recession.  Yes, the Nation’s Unemployment Rate is the highest it’s been in 20+ years.  (article here)

So, what do we do?

I have been getting lots of emails about cost saving measures, and I have been trying to make cuts where I can, especially since we are down to one income right now since I was laid off.  But going to one income from 2, is a challenge. Where did all that money go?

For us it was mostly consumables, we are foodies, and I love good bath products.  Also, I did spend a lot of clothing.  Time used to be too precious to stake out a sale or hunt at Marshalls, TJMaxx or Filene’s Basement.  Now, if I need something, I would rather hunt than pay.  A few months ago, I made a trip to Marshalls and was reminded of the great deals you can find – I found a $300 suit for $30!  And it’s paid off, I have worn it to 2 job interviews now.

So, for all of us trying to save money, I will share some links (if you don’t already know them)

Why is this on the mind?  Because we are all going through it.  Yesterday, DH and I had pizza cravings, but only a few dollars in cash (I always forget to get cash).  Plus, I want us to make sure we are sticking to this budget I created this month, and I would rather have a nice date this Saturday (we have babysitters after all)  So, I looked at him, and said, give me a few minutes… and 15 minutes later, pizza was made with items from the fridge.  It tasted great!  And was healthier too!  Here’s the recipie – you have all the food in your fridge too:

  1. Pita Bread
  2. Tomato sauce (just a jar of Ragu because it was10 for $10.00 deal)
  3. Mozzarella cheese (in our case, in the string cheese type, I had to shred it)
  4. Spinach
  5. Feta cheese
  6. Pizza seasoning on top

I put it in the oven for a few minutes, and 45 seconds in our broiler (our oven runs hot) and voila!  And LM loved it!  (He loves pita)

I know, this is no surprise to more experienced Moms.  But, hey, this is a learning process.  And I am trying to treat each day as an adventure.

Happy Friday!

One Response to Money on the mind

  1. terripatrick says:

    Always treat each day as an adventure, it really is more fun. Then when the days of abundance return, they will be even more so because – that sense of adventure will remain.

Leave a Reply

