To SAHM or not to SAHM…

So, this is a continued debate, in the news, in my books, on the tele, in my head.  Working Mom (W.M.) or Stay at  Home Mom (SAHM)?  That is the question.

It is an interesting debate.  Both sides have valid reasons.  From what care is better, to which is better for your immune system, to whos is more social, to what your role of a mom is.

And everyone of these women are right.  There is no right answer.  It just has to be the right answer for you.

When I finished Allison Pearson’s “I Don’t Know How She Does It, The life of Kate Reddy”, the character of Kate does this same debate.  Working mom with nanny, husband, and keeping up with the Jones, and how it affects her life.  I will let you know I was read it hoping for it to end the way I wanted it to.  I don’t want to give the ending, but I will say this, well, I can’t say much more, because I don’t want to give the ending.  If you read it, comment and we can discuss!

6 Responses to To SAHM or not to SAHM…

  1. Bad Momma says:

    Try it, you might like it! (SAHM)

    I read that book a while back & vaguely remember it. You’ll have to refresh my memory on a few points.

    Chic-lit is like a box of Chocolates. Not very nutritious and if you eat too much, you’ll get sick…
    Not a great place to find answers to life’s nagging questions.

  2. terripatrick says:

    Beth, you can turn off the automatically generated posts. I did it, but can’t remember how. Probably through the dashboard…

    This Kate Reddy book sounds interesting but I’m not sure I’ll remember to look it up anytime soon. Since I was both types of mom, and a part-time worker often during the stay-at-home years, I’m not sure if I’d care about Kate’s ideas, since I can grant value to both. I also moved 6 times while a SAHM and was a WM in a much different decade, when, we just did it and didn’t analyze it to death.

    The greatest benefit to the WM scenario is the potential for partnership equality with the parents – when the child care is awesome – and both parents know how to relax and enjoy the family time. But this is confused by the “money concept” when WP (working parent) feels the SAHP is having all the fun….

    The important and often forgotten point about WM and SAHM debate is – the marriage partnership is the first priority. Parenting is learn as you go – consuming career – but not the essence of who you are as individuals, partners or parents.

  3. Weaselmomma says:

    I linked here from Bad Momma and just wanted to say hi and wish you luck with the blog. Now I also want to wish you luck with making your decision. You can always split the difference and try the SAHM thing. If it doesn’t work for you, you can go back to work.

  4. madebyamyd says:

    I had a major identity crisis at first. I used to be the main breadwinner. now i’m in my own rhythm, but it did take awhile.

Leave a Reply

